New Davis Cup Format explained

The Davis Cup is set to undergo a radical change with the hope of reviving its lost spark. Beginning next year, the top team event in men’s tennis will be decided with a season-ending, 18-team tournament at a neutral site. The Davis Cup, which was founded in 1900, has been played in the current format since 1981 and now we take a look at the new Davis Cup Format that is set to start next year!

ALSO READ: US Open Controversies!

Davis Cup Qualifying Round (February 2019)

Teams: 24

12 teams placed 5-16th in 2018 finals event + 12 Group 1 winners (6 Euro/Africa, 3 Asia/Oceania, 3 Americas)

Format: Home and away

Winners: 12 winners go straight to Finals in November

Losers: Relegated to Group I with ties to be played in either April/September

Davis Cup Finals Round (November 2019)

Teams: 18

– 4 previous year’s semifinalists (France, Spain, Croatia, USA)

– 12 qualifying teams from February

– 2 wild cards

Venue: Madrid or Lille

Tie format: 2 singles + 1 doubles (best of 3 sets)

Format: Round Robin with 6 groups of 3 teams (Monday-Thursday)

Next Round (Quarterfinals on Friday): 6 group winners + two best 2nd placed teams

Next Round (Semifinals on Saturday): Four winning teams qualify automatically for 2020

Next Round (Final on Sunday): To crown first champions

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top