Nidahas Trophy 2018 – Match 3 | Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh: Preview, Team News & Top Funtasy11 Picks

This article brings to you the preview, team news and top Funtasy picks for the Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh T20I in the Nidahas Trophy 2018.

Following an emphatic win against India in the opening clash, hosts Sri Lanka will be raring to take on Bangladesh in what would be the 3rd T20I of the Nidahas Trophy 2018 on 10 March.

Although Bangladesh are a world class side in the 50-over format, their form in the T20Is has been a big question mark. They have managed to win only a single match in this format since the World T20 in 2016. A string of losses in New Zealand, South Africa and Sri Lanka must have imposed an unsolicited pressure on the side.    

Also Read: IPL 2018: Gautam Gambhir officially named Delhi Daredevils captain

Sri Lanka Team News

Kusal Perera’s exhilarating 66 of 37 deliveries dented the plight of an inexperienced Indian bowling line up at the Premadasa Stadium, making it a rather one-sided contest in the end. Having lost 7 consecutive games against India, the Island Nation finally managed to break the jinx with a five-wicket victory.

In spite of the raw openers, the Sri Lankan middle order looks unscathed with the likes of Dinesh Chandimal, Upul Tharanga and all-rounder Thisara Perera. Moreover, the Sri Lankan bowling seems to have been in safe hands with pace spearhead Dushmantha Chameera who likes to hit the deck hard.


Akila Dananjaya of Sri Lanka bowls during the ICC World Twenty20 2012


Besides, their band of spinners which comprises of Akila Dananjaya, and Jeevan Mendis are expected to shine against Bangladesh. Skipper Chandimal is likely to play the same XI against in order to inch closer to the tri-series final. 

Starting XI (Last Match): Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal(w/c), Kusal Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep

Bangladesh Team news

The high dot ball percentage daunted Bangladesh’s flow of runs and contributed majorly in their defeat to India in the 2nd T20I. Despite starting well on a fairly decent strip, the batsmen failed to rotate the strike late on to have settled for a below par score.

The bowlers despite not having much to do in the low scoring game, removed the Indian openers under 5 overs, but failed to capitalise later on. The upcoming game against Sri Lanka could see skipper Mahmudullah deploy the same playing XI as the players will have much more to offer against Sri Lanka.


Mahmudullah hits out during the ICC Champions Trophy match


The team will rely heavily on the likes of Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman who have often proved their credentials on the highest level.

Starting XI (Last Match): Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah(c), Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Liton Das, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top