IPL Auction 2018: Elucidating the ‘Right to Match’ card in the Auction

From the recently concluded Player Retention event to the upcoming mega suction, the eleventh edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) has already racked up a lot of buzz throughout. 

With the player retention event done and dusted, the team owners still have the option to use the ‘Right to Match’ card in the all-important auction slated on 27 and 28 January in Bengaluru. 

What is Right to Match (RTM)?

The Right to Match (RTM) card, precisely, is an option for the franchises to retain a player by matching the bid at which the particular player has been sold in the auction. The team which didn’t retain the player in the retention event can access their RTM card and spend the same amount in which the second team decides to buy the player at the time of auction.

How many RTMs can a team use?

A team has been given the leverage to retain 3 players directly (as we saw in the pre auction event) and as many players using RTM. But the teams have to follow the 3-2 suit, which means a maximum of 5 players can be retained overall. If a team has retained 3 players earlier, then they can use the RTM for upto 2 players. Furthermore, maximum three capped Indian players, maximum two uncapped Indian players, maximum two overseas players can be retained via the aforementioned rule. 

Also read: IPL 2018: All you need to know about the all-important Auction

For instance, Chennai Super Kings, having retained MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja, can now retain two players using the RTM during the auction (only foreign players). Subsequently, if the Delhi Daredevils bid for Dwayne Bravo in the auction for a certain price, then Chennai can exercise their RTM card to match Bravo’s price and pick him.


Ravi Ashwin

DURBAN, SOUTH AFRICA – SEPTEMBER 24, Ravichandra Ashwin takes a catch during the Airtel Champions League Twenty20 semifinal match between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore at Sahara Stadium Kingsmead on September 24, 2010 in Durban, South Africa. (Photo by Anesh Debiky/Gallo Images/Getty Images)


Besides, CSK can’t retain Ravichandran Ashwin, exceeding their limit of 3 capped Indian players earlier. Interestingly, Mumbai Indians, having retained retained Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah can still retain the likes of Krunal Pandya (uncapped) and Nitish Rana (uncapped) during the auction. Here is the list of the players retained by their teams respectively, along with RTMs available:


Players retained

RTMs available

Royal Challengers BangaloreVirat Kohli, Sarfaraz Khan, AB de Villiers2
Chennai Super KingsMS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja2
Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah2
Delhi DaredevilsShreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Chris Morris2
Kolkata Knight RidersAndre Russell, Sunil Narine3
Sunrisers HyderabadDavid Warner, Bhuvneshwar Kumar3
Rajasthan RoyalsSteve Smith3
Kings XI Punjab Axar Patel3
Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top