WTA Events in India!

With the WTA heading back to India after almost 5 years, today we take a look at all the WTA events that took place in the Indian subcontinent over the past years. There have been 4 cities to have had the privilege to host the WTA events in India and we take a look at them!


1) City – Kolkata

    Year – 2005-2008

    Tournament – Sunfeast Open

The Sunfeast Open was born in the city of Kolkata in 2006 and since then had been an annual WTA Tour Tournament until it was abolished in 2008. The tier-III tournament was played on the indoor courts of Netaji Indoor Stadium. The 4th edition of the Sunfeast Open was due to be played in Kolkata but was then shifted to Mumbai citing the clash of dates with the popular festival of Durga Puja. The tournament was to be held on an outdoor premises of the Cricket Club of India unlike the previous editions that were played on indoor courts.

Since 2008, the Sunfeast Open was removed from the WTA calendar due to persisting issues regarding the venues.

Also Read: US Open 2017: Everything you need to know!

Past Finals:

2005Anastasia MyskinaKarolina Sprem
2006Martina HingisOlga Puckhkova
2007Maria KirilenkoMariya Koryttseva
2008Ayumi MoritaElora Dabija


2) City – Bangalore and Hyderabad

    Year – 2003-2008

    Tournament – Canara Bank Banglore Open

The Canara Bank Bangalore Open was a professional women’s tennis tournament held under the name of WTA annually until 2008. The tournament was born in the yaer od 2003 and was sported on the outdoor hard-courts. The tournament was initially a Tier-4 event that was held in the SAAP Tennis Complex in Hyderabad. It was later shifted to Banglore in 2006 and was simultaneously upgraded to a Tier-3 event that year.

In 2008, the tournament made its way to a Tier-2 event list with a prize money of USD 600,000. The title that year was won by none other than Serena Williams. The tournament in 2008 was the biggest tournament in the South and South-East Asia.

After restructuring of the WTA calendar, the tournament was abolished in 2008.

Past Finals:

2003Tamarine TanasugramIroda Tulyaganova
2004Nicole PrattMaria Kirilenko
2005Sania MirzaAlona Bondarenko
2006Mara SantangeloJelena Kostanic
2007Yaroslava ShvedovaMara Santangelo
2008Serena WilliamsPatty Schnyder

Also Read: Roger Federer at US Open – Top Wins

3) City – Pune

    Year – 2012

    Tournament – Royal Indian Open

The Royal Indian Open was a WTA tournament organised in the city of Pune in the year of 2012. The event was classified as a WTA Challengers’ Tournament and was played on the outdoor hard-courts of Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex.

It was earlier played as a tournament under the ITF circuit since its origin in 2001 as a USD 10,000 event. It was later upgraded to USD 25,000 event in 2010. In 2012, it became the 2nd event to be a part of WTA 125K series.

The only edition of the WTA Royal Indian Open was won by Elina Svitolina after defeating the Japanese Kimiko Date-Krumm in straight sets, 6-2 6-3.

The tournament, however, was played for just a year as it got cancelled due to some unknown reason in 2013.

Past Winner:

2012Elina SvitolinaKimiko Date-Krumm


After 5 years of abandoning the Royal Indian Open, the WTA is once again back with a tournament that is scheduled to be played in November. It will be a 125,000$ WTA tournament that will allow the local champs to compete with the top 50 of the World. There will be four wild cards each on offer in main draw and the Qualifiers of the Mumbai Open.

Except Ankita Raina who is ranked 252, the other Indian champs namely Karman Kaur Tahndi (349) and Riya Bhatia (519) won’t be getting a direct entry in the main draw.

“I am very much looking forward to the WTA event at home. It will be a great exposure and experience for all of us since it’s quite tough to enter a WTA event. I would like to request AITA to host more of these tournaments,” Ankita Raina said.

The event is due to start on November 20th November, 2017 and will run till 26th November, 2017 with the players competing on Hard surface.

Also Read: Rafael Nadal at US Open – Best Wins

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top