ICC Champions Trophy: India vs Pakistan – Probable XI

Virat Kohli of India bats in front of Umar Akmal of Pakistan

The epic rivalry between arch rivals India and Pakistan resumes at Edgbaston in the fourth match of the ICC Champions Trophy. There may be cross-border tensions between the nations, but when it comes to cricket, no contest can match the eagerness and hype it generates not only in the sub-continent but all across the globe. India may have a clean slate against Pakistan in World Cups (ODIs and T20s) but when it comes to the Champions Trophy, it is Pakistan who boast of a better past with a 2-1 margin.

Also Read: 5 classic India-Pakistan ODI matches feat. Sachin, Kohli & Miandad

The last limited overs clash between the two nations was during the 2016 T20 World Cup in which India got the better of their rivals thanks to the perseverance of Virat Kohli. The last time the two teams met for a Champions Trophy clash was in the very same city of Edgbaston in the previous edition of Champions Trophy in 2013. It was a rain-hit clash in which India finally came good to register their first CT victory over Pakistan. The recent form of the Indian team right from the start of their successful grand home season puts them ahead as hot favorites for the Edgbaston clash but it will be a huge mistake to underestimate the team that is no stranger to putting up surprises every now and then.

Convincing wins in the two warm-up matches have left the Indian Team management with a problem of plenty while Pakistan too have been in a good run of form coming into this encounter.

Let’s have a look at the probable XI of both the teams.

              INDIA            PAKISTAN
    Rohit Sharma        Azhar Ali
    Shikhar Dhawan        Ahmed Shehzad
    Virat Kohli (C)        Babar Azam
    Dinesh Karthik        Mohammad Hafeez
    MS Dhoni        Shoaib Malik
    Yuvraj Singh        Sarfaraz Ahmed (C)
    Hardik Pandya        Faheem Ashraf
    Ravindra Jadeja        Shadab Khan
    Bhuvneshwar Kumar        Mohammad Amir
    Umesh Yadav        Hasan Ali
    Jasprit Bumrah        Wahab Riaz

Participate in FYS Fantasy League and win loads.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top