European Round-up: Feyenoord are Dutch Champions after 18 years, Benfica pip Porto to win the Primeira Liga

Dirk Kuyt celebrates

This week’s European round-up features Feyenoord’s 18-year wait for the Dutch title, Benfica pipping Porto again to win the Portuguese Primeira Liga and AS Roma thwarting Juventus’ Serie A party.


Roma defeat Juventus 3-1 to delay their title celebrations

Juventus needed only a point to clinch the sixth successive Serie A title but were thwarted by rivals Roma who ran out 3-1 winners at the Stadio Olimpico. Mario Lemina opened the scoring in the 21st minute with his first goal of the season but Roma equalized through Daniele De Rossi within 4 minutes. El Shaarawy and Nainggolan completed the turnaround in the second half.


Radja Nainggolan celebrates


Monaco on the verge of Ligue 1 title

Monaco crossed 100 league goals for the seasons and all but wrapped up the title after beating Lille 4-0 in a home victory. They have two games remaining and Paris St. -Germain have one remaining but are 3 points behind them with a goal difference that is poorer by 17.  Captain Falcao scored with a header early on and Bernardo Silva’s goal on the stroke of half-time was their 100th goal of their league season. Falcao scored again in the second half and Junior Alonso’s own goal added shine to the scoreline.


Also Read: Premier League Midweek Preview: The Race for the Top 4 intensifies


Ancelotti left breathless by ‘Crazy’ comeback

Bayern, having already wrapped up the Bundesliga title, were trailing their closest challengers 4-2 in the 83rd minute but came back with two stoppage time goals to win 5-4 in a breathless game.

Marcel Sabitzer opened the scoring after just 65 seconds and Lewandowski equalised from the spot with his 150th goal in German top flight. A spot kick from Timo Werner and Yussuf Poulsen’s deflected effort put Leipzig two goals clear but Thiago’s header reduced the deficit. Werner again scored after some poor defending by Boateng and Lahm to seemingly set the result in stone but Lewandowski’s second goal of the game in the 84th minute along with Alaba’s stoppage time free kick and Robben’s late winner won the game for the champions.


Bayern Players celebrate


Benfica win 4th consecutive Primeira Liga title

Benfica thrashed Vitoria Guimaraes 5-0 to win the Portuguese title, coming into the penultimate match of the season 5 points clear of their closest challengers Porto. They raced into a 4 goal lead by half time and Jonas scored a penalty in the second half to add to the party mood. They have played exceptionally well this season with a defence of Victor Lindelof, Nelsen Semedo and Grimaldo, all being looked at by European super teams only leaking 16 goals in 33 games. They have lost only twice in the league and have gone their entire campaign undefeated at home.


Feyenoord finish 18-year title wait

Feyenoord have finally won the Eredivisie for the first time in 18 years, sealing the title with a Dirk Kuyt hat-trick in a 3-1 win over Heracles at home. They have been on top of the table since the first day of the season and came into this match with an advantage of 1 point of their closest rivals Ajax. They only had to match their result to clinch the title and they wasted no time in doing so as captain Kuyt scored the first goal of the game after 38 seconds and again in the 12th minute. He scored a penalty with six minutes to play and completed his hat-trick.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top