Fantasy League. Play Now
IPL Fantasy

FYS STAT ATTACK : SRH cruise to Play-offs Dismantling Record Books!

David Warner celebrating

The 13th of May marked a shambolic end to the two-year IPL journey of Gujarat Lions as they were crushed by 8 wickets by a determined Sunrisers. The defending champs needed to win this contest to qualify for the play-offs on their own but had a horrible start as the GL openers thrashed their bowlers all around the park to race to 111 inside 11 overs. What followed next was an excellent comeback by Warner & Co. as they bundled GL out for a paltry 154.

Also Read: Watch: Dhoni takes a leaping catch as Twitter is in awe of him again

SRH survived the double blows upfront by Praveen Kumar and rode on fifties by Warner (69*) and Vijay Shankar (63*) to cruise to an eight-wicket victory and in process, became the second team in IPL 10 to qualify for play-offs.

Here are some interesting numbers from the game-

158 by SRH is the highest IPL total without a six to show for – the previous highest was 152 by RPS against KXIP in 2016.

4 This win over GL was SRH’s fifth in as many encounters- they became the fourth team to win all first five matches against an opposition in IPL. CSK vs KXIP, MI vs KKR and RCB vs PWI are the other ones.

2nd time Warner crossed the 600-run mark in an IPL season- joint second most with Virat (2013 and 2016). Gayle (2011, 12 and 13) leads the charts with 3 such instances.

3 Shikhar Dhawan completed his 5000 T20 runs today in what was his 181st innings – third fastest Indian after Kohli (167 innings) and Raina (173 innings).

13 the century partnership between Warner and Vijay Shankar was the 13th hundred-run stand for SRH- Warner has been involved in 12 of those.

2 Warner becomes the only second player after Chris Gayle to score five or more fifty-plus scores in three successive IPL seasons. Warner has done it in last three seasons while Gayle achieved the feat in 2011,12 and 13.

4 David Warner, with his seventh run, became the fourth captain (after Kohli, Gambhir and Dhoni) to complete 2000 runs in IPL. He took only 46 innings to achieve the feat -fewest by any captain.

43 GL lost its 10 wickets for only 43 runs- fewest by any team to lose all ten going past RCB’s 47 for 10 against KKR earlier this season.

2 the 111 run-opening stand for GL is only the second hundred run opening stand for GL after McCullum-Smith’s 112 against DD in 2016. Overall this is the third century stand for GL -the remaining one was between Raina and Karthik against DD this year.

6 GL batmen got out bowled in this match- joint second most bowled dismissals in an innings with RCB against RR in 2012. 7 bowled dismissals in KXIP innings against RCB in 2015 stands at the top.

2 GL became the only second team in IPL history to be bowled out after a hundred run opening stand- the only other instance was by Deccan Chargers against RCB in IPL 2008.

25 wickets by Bhuvneshwar Kumar so far in this IPL- his highest ever in a single IPL season going past last year’s tally of 23 wickets.

3 Ishan Kishan (18y 299d) became the third youngest player to score an IPL fifty- Samson (18y 169d) and Pant (18y 212d) are ahead of him in this count.

1 this was the first instance in IPL 10 when SRH failed to pick up an opposition wicket in powerplay overs.

1 GL became the first team to play three successive IPL matches without four overseas players- KKR played two consecutive games with four overseas players in 2011 edition. GL’s overseas players today were Dwayne Smith, Aaron Finch and James Faulkner.

Brief Scores: SRH 158-2 (Warner 69* and Praveen Kumar 2-22) beat GL 154 ( Ishan Kishan 61 and Siraj 4-32) by 8 wickets.

Also Try: Create a Team. Win an Indian Team Jersey.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top