This will be the Probable XI for New Zealand in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017

New Zealand celebrate a wicket

New Zealand has announced their 15-man squad for the Champions Trophy on Monday 24th April. New Zealand have won the trophy once back when it was called the ICC Knockout Trophy in 2000. With New Zealand’s increasing stature in world cricket, as depicted by their performance in 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup, they are surely one of the contenders for this year tournament. Here’s a look at the combination that might feature in the games.


Top Order:  Kane Williamson(C), Martin Guptill, Tom Latham 

Kane Williamson has been the ‘Mr Dependable’ for New Zealand for a long time and he will continue to lead the side in the Champions Trophy. Martin Guptill, with his destructive ability, is expected to open the batting with Tom Latham. 

Middle Order: Ross Taylor, Neil Broom

Ross Taylor, with all his experience, will be coming in at number 4 and will be instrumental in the middle overs with his ability to accumulate runs by rotating the strike. Neil Broom, on the other hand, has proved himself after being recalled in the national squad after 9 years against Bangladesh were he scored back to back knocks of 109* and 97 and played a crucial role in the series victory. 



All-Rounders: Colin de Grandhomme, Corey Anderson

Anderson last played in a One-Day International in October last year against India and was plagued by a back injury, as a result of which he was playing only as a batsman since his recovery. The 26-year-old has slowly started bowling recently though and that might have played a huge role in the selectors bringing him back. Colin de Grandhomme on the other hand too can play the role of the finisher towards the end of the innings with his hard hitting ability. He was can also roll his arm over for a few overs. 


Spinners: Mitchell Santner

As the Champions Trophy is taking place in England and Wales, there will be hardly anything on offer for the spinners. Mitchell Santner will have to play a role in building pressure and keeping it tight at one end. If there happens to be some assistance for the spinners, then he will surely come into play.



Fast Bowlers: Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Mitchell McClanaghan

Tim Southee and Trent Boult with lead the bowling attack in the pace bowler friendly conditions in England & Wales. Mitchell McClanaghan hasn't featured for New Zealand since his side's semifinal defeat at the hands of England in the World T20 last year but has shown impressive form for Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League (IPL). 


New Zealand Squad: Kane Williamson (C), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Jeetan Patel, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor. 


Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top