Shane Warne’s All-time IPL XI

Legendary spinner Shane Warne has picked his all time IPL XI, not to mention, having raised a few eyebrows. Warne decided to exclude superstars like Suresh Raina, AB de Villiers and David Warner, all of whom have been wonderful performers in the cash rich league. Warne also picked Harbhajan Singh ahead of R Ashwin, who has arguably been better than the Punjab spinner in the IPL.


Let us take a look at the team :


Openers : Chris Gayle and Brendon Mccullum

No doubts here. Chris Gayle has been one of the most loved players in the IPL and has been sensational for all the franchises he has played for. Gayle has flourished more for RCB and has delivered a number of match winning performances. He would get into any IPL All-time XI.

The IPL owes a lot to Brendon Mccullum. The Kiwi superstar is the one who scored a sensational 158 in the very first game of the IPL and made the tournament an instant hit. Mccullum has played for a number of franchises and has been a consistent performer for all of them. Another good selection.


Middle Order : Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh

The middle order comprises of 3 big Indian names. Indian skipper Virat Kohli has been included by Warne. Kohli wasn't a huge success in the first couple of years, but has since been a consistent performer. He is one of the best batsman in the world at the moment and deserves his place in the side. Kohli scored close to a 1000 runs last year, an IPL record. Another no brainer.

Rohit Sharma also gets into Warne's side. Rohit has been a star for both the Deccan Chargers and the Mumbai Indians and has won 3 IPL titles. He has led his team to victories on a number of occassions and deservingly makes Warne's side.

Yuvraj Singh is a superstar. No doubt about that. There aren't many in World cricket who could hit the ball as sweetly as the Punjab lad does. He has done well in the IPL as well. But compared to his international record,he has underwhelmed a bit. Suresh Raina is the highest run getter in the history of the IPL and the decision of Warne to include Yuvraj ahead of him surprised a few.


Lower Middle Order : Jacques Kallis, Ms Dhoni(C & WK), Ravindra Jadeja

Kallis is the all rounder in Warne's side. Kallis is regarded as one of the finest cricketers to have ever played the game and edges the likes of de Villers, Warner and Watson to make the playing XI. Warne could only pick 4 overseas players in his side and included Kallis as his fast bowling all rounder.

MS Dhoni would lead the side. The World Cup Winning captain has led his former franchise Chennai Super Kings to two IPL titles and is the most succesfull skipper in IPL history.He is also a world class finisher and his inclusion is a no brainer.

Ravindra Jadeja played under Shane Warne at Rajasthan Royals and Warne is a huge fan of the current World number 1 bowler. Jadeja is a player every captain would want to have. Good with bat and ball electric in the field. He is included as the spinning all rounder in this side.


Bowlers : Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Umesh Yadav

The "turbanator" has been a consistent performer for the Mumbai Indians and is one of the few "single franchise players" so far. Bhajji has bailed out Mumbai Indians on a number of occasions with his tight bowling and that prompted Warne to include the off spinner in his side. While it was a close call between Harbhajan and R Ashwin, Warne went for Harbhajan.

Lasith Malinga is the highest wicket taker in IPL history and is a Mumbai Indians legend. Malinga is widely regarded as the best t-20 bowler of all time and his inclusion comes as no surprise. He would get into any All-time XI.

Umesh Yadav's inclusion ahead of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Zaheer Khan raised a few eyebrows. Umesh is India's best bowler in the test format, but struggles in the shortest format as he leaks a lot of runs. Bhuvneshwar and Zaheer have been more successful than the Vidarbha player in the IPL, but Warne went for Umesh's raw pace.


Players unlucky to miss out :

David Warner

Suresh Raina

Shane Watson

Ab Devilliers

R Ashwin

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top