Watch: All the super overs in IPL history

MS Dhoni during IPL

Once called the gentlemen's game, cricket has moved forward quite rapidly. Now the shorter version of the game – the T20 format – is one that people love watching. 

International T20 tournaments like Indian Premier League (IPL), Big Bash League (BPL) and others have added flavour to what people want to see.

The thrilling contest of IPL becomes a nail-biting one when the match reaches a critical stage in the decisive over. And if the game ends with a tie then the excitement levels reach the limit.  

During the 9 seasons of IPL people have seen many nail-biting finishes and super overs. Here in this article, we go through all the super overs to have played out in the Indian Premier League so far.


1. Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals, 2009

The first super over in IPL took place during the second season of the tournament when it was being played in South Africa. Yusuf Pathan's 21 ball 42 run knock helped Rajasthan put 150 on board. Kolkata replied back strongly but match ended in a tie.

Playing the super overs, KKR's Chris Gayle smashed 3 boundaries to put a total of 15 on board. In reply, Yusuf Pathan's two sixes and a four gave them victory in just four deliveries.


2. Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab, 2010

Second super over in IPL was played between Chennai Super Kings and Kings XI Punjab in 2010. Batting first with the help of brilliant 43 of Yuvraj, KXIP scored 136 in 20 overs.

CSK were bowled out in the first 5 balls giving Punjab a target of 10, which they easily achieved. This was the first win for Punjab in the competition.



3. Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2013

Virat Kohli's 46 and Moises Henrique's 44 helped Bangalore score 130 in 20 overs. In reply, Hyderabad looked good but it was RCB's Vinay Kumar's excellent last over where he gave only six runs to end the game with a tie.

However, Vinay Kumar couldn't repeat his magic in the super over as Cameroon White stuck 2 sixes to and SRH scored 20. Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli opened the batting for RCB. But RCB's superstars couldn't do much anything in front of Dale Steyn and scored just 15 runs.


4. Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Daredevils, 2013

Batting first Delhi scored 152 in 20 overs. RCB's Virat Kohli scored 65 but failed to reach the target. In the end, it was Ravi Rampaul who managed to end the game with the scores tied.

In the super over AB de Villiers stuck 2 massive sixes to put 15 runs on the board. Later Delhi got a huge blow as David Warner got out on the very first ball and thus DD could score only 11.



5. Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals, 2014

Once again these two teams met in the super over. Ajinkya Rahane's innings helped RR reach 152 in 20 overs. In response, KKR struggled but Shakib al Hasan made sure that the game ended with a tie.

Playing the super over KKR lost both their wickets and scored 11 runs. Even Rajasthan had to struggle and they needed 3 of the last ball. Steve Smith knew his team was ahead in ball count so he scored 2 of the last delivery thus ending the super over in a tie and winning by ball count as Rajasthan had more number of boundaries in their innings.


6. Rajasthan Royals vs Kings XI Punjab, 2015

Rajasthan Royals looked strong in this game as they scored 191/6 in their allotted 20 overs. Ajinkya Rahane scored 74 while Shane Watson contributed 45. From Punjab's side, brilliant half centuries from Glenn Maxwell and David Miller made sure that the match ended in a tie. They scored 65 and 54 respectively.

Punjab received a big blow when Miller got out on the very first delivery of the super over. However, Shaun Marsh carried the innings forward and team scored 15 runs. RR received a setback as their skipper Shane Watson was bowled on the very first ball. Later James Faulkner was run out and thus Punjab got the crucial two points.


Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top