The old saying Catches win matches has been proved to be right on innumerable occasions in the past. This catch by Kiwi opener Tom Latham at short-leg to dismiss South African skipper Faf du Plessis can prove to be one more such incident.
Faf du Plessis, who seemed to be in an excellent touch with the bat was batting on 53 when Latham pulled off the stunner. Trying to play a premeditated paddle sweep, du Plessis misread the back of the length delivery by Santner which turned in towards the right-hander. He ended up playing it against the turn and couldn't play it fine, making the ball jump in the air. On Latham's part, it was a brilliant piece of judgement as he read Faf's footwork perfectly and expected him to play it fine. He started running towards fine-leg even before the batsman hit the ball and synchronized his movement perfectly to pounce on the ball high and wide with his right hand!
Here is a look at the exceptional catch!
— BLACKCAPS (@BLACKCAPS) March 26, 2017
— Taimoor Zaman (@taimoorz1) March 26, 2017
Latham also played his part with the bat up the order, remaining unbeaten on 42 at Stumps on Day 2.