Complete List of Orange Cap Holders across all editions of IPL

The countdown has begun for one of the most entertaining cricket league in the world has begun. The tenth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is all set to kick-start from 5th April 2017 at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad. IPL attracts a huge crowd every year as numbers of fans turn up every year to witness a slugfest on the cricket field.


More so due to the nature of the T20 format which is known to favour the batsmen a lot more as compared to the bowlers who has a very little margin of error. To reward the art of batsmanship, IPL has a unique way of celebrating the success of the batsmen who plunder most runs in a season. The highest run-getter in the tournament is awarded the prestigious ‘Orange Cap’ and here we take a look at all the orange cap winners in IPL.


Shaun Marsh (Kings XI Punjab) – 2008

Playing for Kings XI Punjab, Shaun Marsh became the first batsman to win the elusive ‘Orange Cap’ in the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League. He scored 616 runs for Punjab 11 matches at an outstanding average of 68.44 and impressive strike-rate of 139.68 to be the first name in ipl orange cap holders list. His consistent performance in the league helped him to get an international call-up in the Australian squad later on.


Matthew Hayden (Chennai Super Kings) – 2009

A legendary batsman and a daunting figure on the cricket field – Matthew Hayden became the second Australian batsman to flaunt the illustrious Orange Cap in the 2009 season of IPL. While playing for Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Matty scored 572 runs 12 matches at an average of 52. He scored five half-centuries for CSK in the second season.


Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians) – 2010

sachin tendulkar

There is hardly any record left in the world of cricket which doesn’t have the name of Sachin Tendulkar written on it and this name clearly stands out in the list of orange cap holders in IPL history. Hailed as the ‘God of Cricket’, the Master Blaster silenced his critics in style who doubted his ability to play the shorter format of the gentlemen’s game. The Mumbai Indians skipper scored 618 runs in 15 matches which included five fifties in the third edition of the IPL.


Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 2011

Unarguably, the biggest hitter in the world of cricket, Christopher Henry Gayle is an indomitable force when it comes to T20 cricket. The Jamaican marauder blasted 608 runs in 12 games at an astonishing average of close to 68 in the fourth season of IPL. Gayle also hit 2 centuries and 3 half-centuries at a mind-boggling strike-rate of 183.13 for Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011.


Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 2012

No list of ipl t20 orange cap winners all seasons can be complete without this legendary West Indian. Chris Gayle is the only player to win the Orange Cap twice in the history of the Indian Premier League. The big Jamaican bettered his own record of 2011 edition and became the highest run-getter in IPL history surpassing the record of Shaun Marsh. He scored record-breaking 733 runs in 12 matches at an average 61.08 and strike-rate 160.74. Chris scored seven half-centuries and one hundred for RCB in the fifth season of the league.


Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings) – 2013

Another Australian to win the Orange Cap, Mr Cricket – Michael Hussey equalled Gayle’s record of 733 runs for Chennai Super Kings in 17 matches and is tied for orange cap winner for the highest score. Hussey’s form with the bat carried CSK to the final of the tournament. Hussey scored six fifties for Chennai and batted at an average of 52.35.


Robin Uthappa (Kolkata Knight Riders) – 2014

Opener Robin was the main reason behind KKR’s rise in the seventh season of the IPL. The hard-hitting batsman reworked his technique and looked a different player in the tournament. He scored 660 runs in 16 matches for KKR which includes five half-centuries. Uthappa became the second Indian batsman after Sachin to win the Orange Cap.


David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – 2015

Known as the ‘Pocket Dynamo’, David Warner’s meteoric rise is the talk of the town in the 2015 season the Indian T20 league. The Hyderabad Warner became the fourth Australian to win the Orange Cap. He scored pasted 562 runs in 14 matches at a staggering strike-rate of 156.54 for SRH.


Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 2016

Team India’s skipper Virat Kohli rewrote the record books of IPL last year with his wielding willow which smashed all batting records in the T20 format. The Delhi-born cricketer becomes the first player to cross the 900-run mark in a single edition of the Indian Premier League. Kohli single-handedly carried his franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore to the final of the premier league and will most likely finish with most runs in ipl history. He scored 973 runs at a staggering average of 81.08 in 16 matches. Kohli created a record for scoring most number of centuries in a single season, he struck four centuries and seven half-centuries in the 2016 edition


Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top