BCCI announces squad for the remaining two test matches

The All India Senior Selection Committee met today and announced the squad for the remaining two test matches of the four-match test series against Australia to be held in Ranchi and Dharamshala successively.

The BCCI announced the 15 member squad without any changes with just Hardik Pandya sitting out with an injury.




All other players retain their positions with Abhinav Mukund being the most notable one retaining his spot after a dismal show in the second test match, making a comeback since playing for India 6 years ago. Murali Vijay has also been retained after he did not play the second test match due to injury.

The Jaddu Magic: The rise and rise of Ravindra Jadeja

The selection committe was expected to bring back Mohammad Shami and Rohit Sharma in the test squad with both the players healing from their respective injuries but the committee has decided to go ahead with the same squad.

The Indian skipper Virat Kohli hasn't used the same combination twice since assuming captaincy of the India Test Team after Dhoni announced his retirement. He is expected to use a different squad in the third test match at Ranchi as well. India's batting has been a concern throughout the series with Virat Kohli going through a rare slump which has resulted in his average going below 50 in tests as well. He has managed just 40 runs at an average of 10.00 in this series.

The series is beautifully poised at 1-1 especially with the second test match being a pendulum throughout its duration as both sides were resilient to win it. However, India emerged victorious in a thriller which proved to be one of the best test match victories for India in recent times, with great display of test cricket of the highest calibre.


Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top