BCCI announces Lifetime Achievement awardees 

BCCI's annual awards function is set to take place on 8th March in Bengaluru. The cricket governing body in India has announced former left-arm spinners Rajinder Goel and Padmakar Shivalkar along side former women's cricketer Shanta Rangaswamy as the Lifetime Achievement awardees.

Shanta Rangaswamy holds the record for scoring the first century by Indian Women Cricketer which she scored against New Zealand on January 8, 1977, at Carisbrook, Dunedin. In a career spanning 15 years, she captained the team in 12 games. An Arjuna Award winner, she became the selector of the Indian women's team from 2003 to 2006 and eventually the India coach.

Rajinder Goel and Padmakar Shivalkar were two of the finest players of their era. Their careers coincided with legendary left-arm spinner Bishan Singh Bedi, as a result of which they didn't get their chance of representing team India.

While Goel has bagged 750 first-class wickets, including 637 scalps in the Ranji Trophy. On the other hand, Shivalkar has claimed 589 wickets in 124 first-class matches and he is regularly training young kids at Shivaji Park Gymkhana in Mumbai. Several cricketers in the current Mumbai side have been trained under him.

The Col. C.K. Nayudu Awards Committee consisting of N. Ram, Ramachandra Guha, and Diana Edulji, believed that BCCI needs to recognize the services rendered by Goel and Shivalkar who were not fortunate enough to play for India.

Meanwhile, Vaman Viswanath Kumar and late Ramakant Desai have been nominated for the BCCI Special Award in recognition of their yeoman services to Indian cricket.

The awards will take place alongside the fifth MAK Pataudi Memorial Lecture 2016-17, to be delivered by former wicketkeeper Farokh Engineer.


Image credit: 

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top